City's Club of the Year wins eleven events


Monday, 09 March 2015 13:13 Written by Administrator Last Updated on Monday, 09 March 2015 13:55


Nottingham Rowing Club, Nottingham City's Club of the Year 2014, won eleven events rowing on the River Trent this weekend.

On Saturday February 28th the club competed in the inaugural 'Masters of Trentside' for veteran athletes aged from 27 to 85. The course was from Clifton Bridge to the Training Ship Orion - a distance of 5,700m. Conditions were cool and windy, but generally the water was flat.

Division One for Men's Fours and Women's Eights was won by a Peterborough City/Star Quad. Dave Knight and Kevin Titterton in a Nottingham/Derby combination won Masters F Coxed Fours. Paul Williamson, Mike Walker, Shane MacSweeney and Andy Brown, coxed by Clare Angus, cleared the opposition early on and won Masters D Coxed Fours.

In Division Two for Men's Eights and Women's Fours, a combined Bedford Rowing Club/Nottingham Rowing Club Masters G Crew were overall winners; Kevin Titterton was in the boat. Nottingham, with Chris Beesley, Shane MacSweeney, Andy Brown, Andy Townsend, Iain Hill, Alan Crowther, Mike Walker, Paul Williamson and cox Clare Angus took the Bronze Medal in the hotly contested Masters D Eights which was won by York City, with Bridgnorth RC taking the Silver just 2s ahead of Nottingham.

The Women's Masters D Coxed Fours was a win for Ruth Hyde, Jill Titterton, Ellie Welham and Sarah Royles coxed by Ellie Townsend and coached by Mark Cooke. The Nottingham Women are the City's Team of the Year 2014.

Sunday 1st March saw the annual Head of the Trent and the Club was once more in action, adding six more wins to Saturday's five. The course was the same but weather conditions were worse, with strong westerly winds all day. Against expectation, Division Two for less experienced crews was called off on safety grounds when the wind proved stronger than forecast. Division One was rowed in sunshine; Division Three in pouring rain.

Star Club was the fastest Men's Eight in the first Division, winning the Cliff Booth Memorial Trophy. Nottingham Rowing Club's Intermediate 2 eight, coached by Olympian Lenny Robertson, was second; the crew was Ben Farrell, Alex Evangelidis, Josh Tolley, Ayrton Carlton, John Stimpson, Kenny Gray, Jon Okon, Alex Watkins and cox Hannah Watts. Nottingham's Open Intermediate 3 eight of Matt Bowles, Sam French, James Winsor, coach Stuart Sykes, George Eden, Max Hearnden, Daniel Benton, Joe Heade coxed by Matt Mitchell also won, placing 12th. The Junior Girls Katie Swales (South Notts Academy), Ellen Tweed (Long Eaton School), Lucy Holgate (Sutton Coldfield G.S.) and Ella Kay (West Bridgford School ), coached by  Martin Kay, were Women's Intermediate 3 Quad winners.

In Division Three, rowed in a downpour, Nottingham's IM3 Quad of Josh Tolley, George Hallewell, Jon Stimpson and Ayrton Carlton, coached by Lenny Robertson, were overall winners. The Women's IM1 Eight of Kat Aguilar-Agon, Caitlin Olney, Jess Denman, Kyra Edwards (George Spencer School), Laura Wheeler, Laura Champion, Anna Thornton (Becket School ) and Kirsty Maxfield, coxed by Hannah York and coached by Dez Atkins, was the first Women's Eight home and for the sixth year in a row won the Robin Haslam Trophy for the fastest Women's Eight in the Head. The men, Alex Watkins, Jon Okon, Kenny Gray and Ben Farrell also won IM2 Coxed Fours.

45 Nottingham Rowing Club athletes won trophies over the week-end. Several won two. All of which points to another successful season for the Club in 2015. So far 55 wins have been recorded this winter. The Club record currently stands at 65.


hot 3 nottingham

Nottingham RC's open eight on the way to winning the IM2 event and placing 2nd overall.


hot 219 nottingham

Nottingham RC's women's eight - fastest women's crew of the day.