Flying start to 2015 for Nottingham RC at Boston Head


Sunday, 01 February 2015 17:38 Written by Administrator


Boston Rowing Club's Boston Head was held on Sunday 25th January 2015 on the canalised River Witham in Lincolnshire. A true winter head, it is rowed in two divisions, each of which has events held over both 3000 m and 5000 m courses. This year's head was Nottingham Rowing Club's first race of 2015 and was a good opportunity to test new crews and evaluate how winter training was going. A change in the river flow brought about by the opening of sluice gates on the river makes it impossible to compare times between the divisions.

Three trailer loads of boats were dispatched from Nottingham with coaches and supporters - and came away with 17 trophies, indicating that 2015 could be another very good year for Nottingham City's Club of the Year 2014.

Conditions for the race were fine and bright, with a cold north-easterly breeze, meaning that crews waiting for over an hour at the start were somewhat chilly, despite wearing plenty of winter kit.

In Division One, rowing over 3000 m, the Intermediate 1 coxed four of Kenny Gray, Jon Okon, Alex Tautrims, Ben Farrell and cox Hannah Watts, coached by Olympian Lenny Robertson, won their event; Tony Lorrimer and Stuart Wharton were Masters G Double Scull winners; the Women's Junior 16 Sculls was won by Hannah Stocks; Sienna Hayes won WJ17 Sculls; Abigail Clark and Bella Barlow, although only 15, won Women's Novice Doubles. Rowing iover 5000 m, John Stimpson won Men's Elite Sculls; the Masters D Eight of Paul Williamson, Graham Angus, Alan Crowther, Mike Walker, Andy Townsend, Iain Hill, Chris Beesley, Andy Brown, coxed by Clare Angus and coached by Lenny Robertson were clear winners. The Women's Intermediate 3 Eight of Amy Stevenson, Brodie Holmes, Suze Wynne, coach Helen Bloor, Belinda Tory, Heather Wesson, Sophie Thean, Sorcha Liston-Smith coxed by Jo Dodgson won their event too, bringing up the eighth victory in Division 1. Rowan Law, the club's star junior sculler, made an early bid for the 'steersman of the year' award by hitting the only tree on the course and falling in - not to be recommended at this time of year!

Following the opening of the sluice gates in Boston, Division 2 had significantly faster conditions. Alan Crowther, Steve Hill, Steve Daw and Dave Wregg won Masters  E Quadruple Sculls; Women's Intermediate 2 Quads was won by Brodie Holmes, Sorcha Liston-Smith, Belinda Tory and Sophie Thean; Abi McCartney was the Women's Intermediate 3 Sculls victor; Abigail Clark and Bella Barlow won WJ15 Double Sculls; Charlotte Brown and Lucy Holgate were WJ16 winners; Katie Swales and Sienna Hayes won WJ17 Double Sculls; Laura Wheeler won Women's Elite Sculls and Anna Thornton was WJ18 Sculls winner. The Womens Masters D Eight of Ruth Hyde, Ellie Welham, Jill Titterton, Sarah Royles, Haley Marsters, Jo Canton, Brigitte Loyd and Ilectra-Georgia Apostolidou coxed by Ashley Hewitt brought a very successful day to a close. The event was running significantly late, so the last boats were loaded onto the trailers in the dark - it's remarkable that we don't seem to have left anything behind!

Nottingham Rowing Club's total of winter wins for 2014/15 now stands at 41. The club record is 65 set in 2013/14.