Great start to 2016 for Nottingham Rowing Club


Thursday, 28 January 2016 12:58 Written by Administrator


After taking a large contingent to the opening event of 2016, many of whom were testing  themselves on the water for the first time in a while, Nottingham Rowing Club returned from Boston Head on Sunday January 24th with 15 trophies, with the club's men, women, veterans and juniors combining to start 2016 with outstanding results.

Held on the River Witham over the closing few kilometres of the infamous 50 kilometre Boston Marathon, the event was run in three separate divisions and attracted a record number of rowers from across the country, many of whose winter training had been disrupted by river flooding.

Division One was rowed over 5000 m and was aimed at senior experienced competitors; Nottingham Rowing Club won every event they entered. The men's first eight of Ed Mace, Alex Watkins, George Turner, Rory Mellows, Jon Okon, Martin Hird, Anthony English and Stuart Sykes, coxed by Sophie Lawton and rowing at IM1 status, won as the fastest crew of the day. The IM3 status second eight of Ben Townsend, Daniel Roe, Ben Farrell, Adam Wright, Joseph Heade, Kenny Gray, Matthew Bowles and Raphael Formarier, coxed by Sophie Rawlins also won their event, coming in only 4s behind the first eight. Laurie Hartill, Tracey Lamb, Cassie White, Becca Gill, Holly Brearley, Heather Wesson, Lisa  Ford, Lou Townrow and cox Josh Kaye won women’s IM1 eights - coach Helen Bloor was delighted. The men's Masters D eight of Chris Beesley, Canice O'Reilly, Steve Hill, Andy Townsend, Iain Hill, Shane MacSweeney, Andy Brown and Paul Williamson, coxed by Clare Angus won a combined C/D event convincingly. George Hallewell, coached by Nicola Benavente, won Elite single sculls; Matt Haywood, another of Nicola's scullers, won J18 single sculls. Laura Wheeler was the winner of Elite women's single sculls and Siena Hayes from Loughborough Girls’ High won women’s J18 single sculls.

Division Two was held over a shorter course of 3000 m, in which John Stimpson won IM1 single sculls and John Gough was the IM3 single sculls winner. Annie Campbell-Orde & Fleur Tavare won women’s IM3 double sculls, and Bella Barlow from Nottingham Girls High School was the women’s J16 single sculls winner.

Division Three was also held over a 3000m stretch. Rosie Wilkins won women's IM1 single sculls and Rosie Taylor won women’s IM3 sculls - both girls are part of the club's High Performance group coached by Dez Atkins. Fresh from earlier victory in the women’s IM1 eight, Laurie Hartill, Tracey Lamb, Holly Brearley and Becca Gill, coxed by Josh Kaye won women’s IM3 coxed fours.