Golden day for Nottingham RC Masters rowers


Tuesday, 01 July 2014 11:37 Written by Administrator


Following the excellent club performances at Nottingham City Regatta on the previois day, Sunday 18th May brought the British Rowing Masters' Championships to Holme Pierrepont - and Nottingham Rowing Club didn't disappoint. In conditions that continued the fine weather and good water contitions of the previous day, albeit with more of a crosswind, Nottingham RC's older members set about showing that they too were up to the challenge.

Rowing over a 1,000m course, Nottingham Rowing Club's men won four gold medals and one silver medal, and its women won four gold medals, plus one second place that really should have been a silver medal. The Club just missed out on the Victor Ludorum trophy at the regatta, which went to Upper Thames Rowing Club from Henley.

Women's Coach Helen Bloor, despite being unwell on the day, won three of the women's gold medals. Berni McCabe, Lou Townrow, Cassie White and Heather Wesson coxed by Kat Noon won gold in the Women's A event for those aged over 27; they were then joined by Helen Bloor (who replaced Heather) and went on to win gold in the Women's B coxed fours for crews aged over 36. Helen and Pauline Peel won gold in the D coxless pairs, and Sarah Royles and Hayley Marsters then joined the winning four and the pair to win gold in the Women's  C eight (aged over 43). Late in the afternoon and racing in a field of four, Ruth Hyde, Ellie Welham, Jill Titterton and Sarah Royles came second in the D coxless fours; controversially, and contravening their own rules, the organisers refused to award a medal for this result.

The men too had a great day's rowing with Bill Payne starting the ball rolling by winning gold in the J single sculls for 80 year-olds and above. In the afternoon he was joined by Stuart Wharton to win the double sculls and then, by Mike Collier and Chairman of the Championships Geoff Nicholls to win the I quadruple sculls for over 75s - so three golds for Bill! In the Masters E IM3 coxed fours Shane McSweeeney, Steve Daw, Andy Townsend and Dave Wregg coxed by Ellie Townsend won gold, and in one of the last races of the day the Masters D eight of Chris Beesley, Shane McSweeney, Iain Hill, Andy Townsend, Andy Brown, Mike FayMike Walker and Paul Williamson coxed by Clare Angus won the silver medal in a high-quality race.