Lincoln Head 2014 - 10 wins for Nottingham Rowing Club and a new season's record is reached.


Tuesday, 18 March 2014 13:29 Written by Administrator


Nottingham Rowing Club returned from Lincoln Head on Sunday 16th March with a haul of 10 wins, including the fastest men’s and women’s single scullers of the day, to reach a new winter record of 65 trophies. The race, a relative newcomer to the region’s calendar of events, takes place on the River Witham over a distance of 5.5 km for eights and 3.5 km for all other boat types. Although sunny and mild, the race on Sunday was held in a stiff headwind which, when combined with the upstream course, led to some unusually slow times.

Nottingham RC juniors claimed most wins, with those coached by Claire Parnell bagging six. Mollie Zalas [Grantham Girls' School] won the women’s School Junior single sculls in what was to prove to be the fastest women’s single sculling time of the day, as well as the Intermediate 2 single sculls later in the day; Jack Smith [Toot Hill School] won Intermediate 2 single sculls, posting the fastest single sculling time of the day in doing so; the women’s J16 double of Charlotte Brown [Nottingham Girls High School] and Priya Jenkins [Loughborough High School] won, as did the IM3 quad of Charlotte, Priya, Katie Swales [South Notts Academy] and Ella Kay [West Bridgford School]; finally, Alex Barlow [Nottingham High School] won J16 single sculls. Over the past five years Claire has coached the largest number of winning Nottingham Rowing Club crews.

A new group of juniors coached by Jonny Richardson registered their first wins. Lauren Sisson and Hannah Stocks won Women's Novice Sculls and Abi Clark, Becca Coles, Eliza Cox and Bella Barlow were Women's J14 Quadruple Scull winners. This group is a welcome addition to the Nottingham Rowing Club Juniors, currently the Evening Post, Rushcliffe Borough Council and Nottinghamshire Junior Team of the Year 2013.

The Masters - those aged from 27 to 85 were in action too. The Masters I quad of Bill PayneGeoff NichollsStuart Wharton and Mike Collier won a combined E/I event, while the Masters D eight of Graham AngusChris BeesleyStephen HillAlan CrowtherAndy BrownAndy Townsend, Mike Fay and Paul Williamson, coxed by Clare Angus won the C/D/F handicap event. An indication of the slow conditions is that this eight completed the course in 25:07, while at the Head of the Trent, over a longer distance, a very similar crew had clocked 18:23!