Nottingham Rowing Club success at the 22nd Nottinghamshire Sports Awards


Monday, 27 January 2014 14:45 Written by Administrator Last Updated on Tuesday, 28 January 2014 21:54


The 22nd Nottinghamshire Sports Awards 'Celebrating Sporting Success' took place at the East Midlands Conference Centre on Monday 21st February, hosted by BBC presenters Mark Shardlow and Andrew James.

Nottingham Rowing Club were up for five awards and were short-listed in every category entered. Ashley Hewitt was in the final three for 'Young Coach of the Year' for his work with youngsters at the Club and at Nottingham Trent University. Dez Atkins was short-listed for 'Performance Coach of the Year': records on the Tideway, and wins at Henley, Windsor and the Senior Championships were highlighted. The Club too was up for 'Club of the Year' following an outstanding season in 2013.

Actual winners on the night were Connor Gamble and Rowan Law who picked up the trophy for 'Junior Team of the Year'. These young Nottingham Rowing Club junior scullers, coached by Claire Parnell, have already received awards from The Evening Post and Rushcliffe Borough Council.

Club President Keith Atkinson was inducted into the 'Roll of Honour' in recognition of the work he has done over the last 60 years at the Club. 'I am very proud of this award and thank Nottinghamshire for it', said Keith. 'But upon reflection it is not so much for sport that the good folk of Nottingham may remember us, but the Boat Club as an outstanding rock and roll venue!'


 Connor and Rowan receive their award



Keith is inducted into the Roll of Honour