Trent Head 2013 brings a record number of wins for Nottingham Rowing Club


Monday, 04 March 2013 17:16 Written by Administrator


The organisers of the annual Head of the Trent, from Nottingham & Union and Nottingham Rowing Clubs, were delighted with a very successful day's racing following a winter of disrupted activity. A blocking high pressure weather system over the British Isles kept wet Atlantic air away, and made for benign confitions on the River Trent as an excellent entry of over 200 crews from all parts of the country - from the Tyne, Tees, Dee, Severn, Ouse and Thames - battled it out.

Overall winners of Division 1 were the men’s eight from Star Club (Bedford) who won the Cliff Booth Trophy for the fastest eight.

Local club Nottingham Rowing Club had a record 11 wins across three divisions.

In Division 1 over a 6000m stretch from Clifton Bridge to the Training Ship Orion, three pennants were won. The Masters D-F event was won by Steve Cuthbert, Tony Lorrimer, Derek Crowley and Paul Johns. On overall handicap Mike Collier, Geoff Nicholls, Bill Payne and Stuart Wharton won the Masters I quadruple sculls for 75 year-olds, while a junior crew coached by Claire Parnell of Olivia Kay (Rushcliffe School), Kyra Edwards (George Spencer School), Olivia Duckworth (Trinity School) and Mollie Zalas (Grantham Girls) won the Women’s Intermediate  2 Quadruple sculls, a non-junior event.

In Division 2 for less experienced crews and finishing at Trent Bridge there were a further four pennants won. The men, Jamie Litchfield, Tim Goodman, Henryk Fass and Massimo Santoro, coached by Dan Johnson, won the Novice Quadruple sculls. The women, coached by Dave Sperry, won the Novice quads; subbing in the crew was one of the juniors, Brodie Holmes from Loughborough College. She won her first pot with Ellie Jaycock, Charlie Loakes and Rebecca Rowntree. A crew coached by Helen Bloor won the Women’s Novice eights; as the event was sponsored by Rowperfect Helen won a stop-watch too! Ruth McKellar, Marie Grant, Fiona Robinson, Kat Aquilar-Agon, Sarah Pomeroy, Kirsty Brown, Meryl Harrison, Alex Beviss and cox Nat Eggington were in the boat. Charlotte Brown (Hollygirt School), Lucy Brown (Nottingham Girls High), Ellie Townsend (Hollygirt School) and Priya Jenkins (Loughborough High) won Women’s J 14 Quads. A boys J15 quad of Peter Savage, Alex Barlow, James Mawby and Joseph Stroger came second in their race and are coached by Tom Savage, Peter’s brother.

Division 3, again over the full 6,000m, brought another four trophies. An outstanding row by the senior women gave them the Robin Haslam Trophy for the fastest Women’s Eight for the 4th year in succession. Coached by Dez Atkins, Nikki Spencer, Fiona Bassett, Catherine Lineker, Laura Wheeler, Sarah Bonar, Lindsay Marshall, Ellie Whittle, Katie Bartlett and cox Rob Lawson dominated the field and set them up well for the Tideway on 9th March. Fiona, Sarah and Katie are part of the World class Start programme and are usually coached by Julie Edwards, GB Talent Development Coach. The Women also won Intermediate 3 eights, where Lou Townrow, Annika Wing, Ruth McKellar, Marie Grant, Nicky Grant, Kat Aquila-Agon, Alex Deviss, Kirsty Brown and cox Jo Dodgson were clear winners. The  winning boys J18 Quad, all under age, went even faster than the winning women’s eight but only by a second. Peter Savage (Djanogly City Academy), Rowan Law (West Bridgford School), Jack Smith (Toot Hill School) and Harvey Kay (Rushcliffe School) had an average age of 16! Yet another win in a day of success for the club was in Intermediate 3 quad sculls who in turn were a fraction of a second ahead of the J18 boys and the senior women’s eight. Ayrton Carlton, another World Class Start athlete, Jarred Minnican, Sam Hayes and Alex Watkins who is coached by Martin Kay are already looking a real prospect for the season.

Tony Lorrimer, Chairman of the Organising Committee, has received many messages of congratulations for a well run, good-natured and efficient event. Next year could be a record entry.