Winning at 2012 Henley Royal Regatta!


Monday, 02 July 2012 08:57 Written by Administrator Last Updated on Tuesday, 03 July 2012 07:30


Nottingham Rowing Club, in their distinctive dark blue, light blue and gold kit with the Robin Hood logo, boated an eight, three coxless fours, two quads and a single sculler in the 2012 Henley Royal Regatta. The Thames Cup eight and the 'A' crew in the Wyfold Challenge Cup were pre-selected, while the other crews all made it through a tough qualifying time trial to make it an unprecedented 30 club members in the main regatta.

On day one, Wednesday 26th June, two crews were beaten. The Thames Cup crew of Liam Gorman, Ollie Bailey, Colin Partridge, Mike Tourt, Jon Okon, Toby Powell, Dale Beech, Adrian Leibert, coxed by Danni Smith and coached by Clive Fletcher went out to London Rowing Club. The Wyfold 'C' crew of Rob Jephcote, Gary Patmore, James Walsh and Ben Farrell lost to Star Club. The Wyfold 'A' crew of Richard Watton, Matt Gotrel, Pete Muhley and Ed Mace defeated Sons of the Thames RC and the 'B' four of Anthony Jackson, Stu Sykes, Alex Evangelidis and Craig Turner beat Henley Rowing Club 'A'. All these Wyfold fours are coached by Dan Johnson.

On day two both remaining Wyfold coxless fours progressed to the next round, the 'A' crew beating seeded Griffen Boat Club and the 'B' four defeating Thames RC.

Day three (Friday) got away to a great start at 08.35 when the girls' crew of Mary Wilson, Katie Bartlett, Olivia Duckworth and Livy Kay, coached by Julie Edwards, became part of Henley history as they defeated Walford Anglican Girls' School from Australia in the first heat of the inaugral Junior Women's Quadruple Sculls. In the very next race the 'A' Wyfold four defeated Rob Roy BC, who had led them for half the 2112m course. Later, in the Princess Royal Challenge Cup for women's single sculls, U23 star Pippa Whittaker lost to an Irish sculler. In the Princess Grace Challenge Cup, the women's quad of Lyndsay Marshall, Fiona Bassett, Catherine Lineker and Nikki Spencer lost to an U23 crew from the Australian National Rowing Centre of Excellence. In the Wyfold Challenge Cup the 'B' four went out to a seeded Australian crew, ANA Rowing Club from Perth.

On the Saturday, semi-finals day, in a repeat of last year the 'A' Wyfold coxless four defeated The Tideway Scullers School - but unlike last year there was no re-row and Nottingham qualified for the final yet again. As Regatta Radio reported: 'Nottingham will hope history does not repeat itself as they prepare for a second final having survived a battering wind and a dogged Scullers crew'. Coach Dan Johnson added: 'The experience of going through five days of competition is so important. The crew that missed out last year with Richard and Matt had never made it to Thursday before. It was all new and different'. The junior girls took on Canford School, who had earlier in the year taken gold at the National Schools' Regatta with Nottingham taking the silver; the result was the same.

In the final of the Wyfold Challenge Cup the 'A' crew faced ANA Rowing Club, who had previously seen off our 'B' crew. ANA took an early lead, which they held for over half the course but the Nottingham boys stuck to their task. Driven on by strokeman Ed Mace they drew level and as they approached the enclosures began to edge ahead. Cheered on by the enthusiastic crowd they opened up a two length lead by the finish. It was the first Henley Royal Regatta win for the club founded in 2006 with the merger of Nottingham Britannia Rowing Club and Nottingham Boat Club.

'We are so delighted', said Club President Keith Atkinson. 'It has been a fantastic Henley for us, with so many of the members rowing and putting in good performances showing the club in such a good light. The win was the icing on the cake. Many thanks to athletes, coaches supporters and sponsors, particularly J.A.Stephens who sponsored the racing boats.'

Link: Henley Royal Regatta 


The winning crew with coach Dan Johnson (4th from right), Club Captain Andy Brown (2nd from left) and members of the men's squad.