Nottingham Rowing Club top trophy winners of 2011


Monday, 02 April 2012 11:56 Written by Administrator Last Updated on Monday, 02 April 2012 22:02


The publication of the latest edition of the British Rowing Almanack shows that Nottingham Rowing Club won more trophies in 2011 than any other rowing club in the country. The year’s tally was 140 wins: 14 in eights, 34 in fours, 40 in pairs and double sculls and an incredible 52 in single sculls.

The Club also boasts thirteen National Champions: Olivia Kay (Women’s J.14 single), Rowan Law (Open J.14 single), Connor Gamble and Dominic Parnell (Open J.15 double sculls), Pippa Whittaker (Women’s U23 single), Nikki Spencer, Catherine Lineker, Fiona Bassett and Lyndsay Marshall (Women’s quadruple scull), Lyndsay Marshall and Fiona Bassett (Women's double scull) and Matt Ley, Rob Yates, Matt Gotrel and Richard Watton (Open coxless fours). 

Although only six years old the Club, an amalgamation of two old established Trentside rowing clubs, the formidable Nottinghamshire County Rowing Association and the Nottinghamshire Schools Rowing Association, has rapidly built a reputation for success on the water and is a force to be reckoned with from Junior to Masters level.

The Club caters for all ages, abilities and aspirations and welcomes new members to try out the 'Learn to Row' courses. Drawn by the growing reputation of the Club more established rowers are joining.

The competitive groups and their coaches in the Club are currently preparing for the regatta season. Nikki Spencer from the Women’s High Perfomance group says: 'Bring it on!'

Meanwhile the leisure section of the Club, led by Richard Pickup and Jenny Huskinson, is preparing for the 'Good Friday Trip', an amble down the Trent to Newark with the occasional stop at a pub.